Header overlay
Quartet: How Four Women Changed the Musical World
  • ISBN: 9780571366101
  • Pages: 480
  • Publisher: Faber
  • Binding: Hardback

Quartet: How Four Women Changed the Musical World

Leah Broad

SF Subscriber Prices

UK & Ireland £22 *save £2.00
Overseas £24 *save £2.00

Non-Subscriber Prices

UK & Ireland £24
Overseas £26
  • Gift wrap available
  • Pre-order
  • All prices include P&P. Overseas rates & subscriber discounts will be applied once you have selected a shipping type for each item during the checkout process.
  • Special stock order
Non Slightly Foxed title: Minimum 5-10 day delivery time.
● If you are a current subscriber to the quarterly your basket will update to show any discounts before the payment page during checkout ● If you want to subscribe now and buy books or goods at the member rate please add a subscription to your basket before adding other items

Shortlisted for the Slightly Foxed Best First Biography Prize 2023.

When do four soloists become a quartet? When they are female composers collected together in creative tension by Leah Broad in this captivating group biography. Ethel Smyth, Rebecca Clark,  Dorothy Howell and Doreen Carwithen were all trailblazers in a musical world largely dominated by the works of dead white men, and Broad’s study of these remarkable composers, while full of amusing anecdotes, is quietly devastating in its portrayal of their treatment by the male establishment, then and now.

Comments & Reviews

Leave your review

Similar Items

Sign up to our e-newsletter

Sign up for dispatches about new issues, books and podcast episodes, highlights from the archive, events, special offers and giveaways.