Mortmain Hall
  • ISBN: 9781788546157
  • Pages: 400
  • Format: 192 x 198 mm
  • Publisher: Head of Zeus
  • Binding: Paperback

Mortmain Hall

Martin Edwards
From£10.99

SF Subscriber Prices

UK & Ireland £10.99 *save £2
Overseas £12.99 *save £2

Non-Subscriber Prices

UK & Ireland £12.99
Overseas £14.99
  • Gift wrap available
  • All prices include P&P. Overseas rates & subscriber discounts will be applied once you have selected a shipping type for each item during the checkout process.
  • Pre-order
  • Special stock order
Non Slightly Foxed title: Minimum 5-10 day delivery time.
Order now
● If you are a current subscriber to the quarterly your basket will update to show any discounts before the payment page during checkout ● If you want to subscribe now and buy books or goods at the member rate please add a subscription to your basket before adding other items ● Gift wrap, messages and delivery instructions may be added during the checkout process ● If you need help please send us a message using the form in the bottom left of your screen and we’ll be in touch as soon as we’re back at our desks.

A superb Golden Age mystery packed with twists, from the winner of the Diamond Dagger 2020

Mortmain Hall is at once a gripping thriller and a classic whodunit puzzle: a Golden Age Gothic mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Dorothy L. Sayers.

England, 1930. Grieving widows are a familiar sight on London’s Necropolis Railway. So when an elegant young woman in a black veil boards the funeral train, nobody guesses her true purpose. But Rachel Savernake is not one of the mourners. She hopes to save a life – the life of a man who is supposed to be cold in the grave. But then a suspicious death on the railway track spurs her on to investigate a sequence of baffling mysteries: a death in a blazing car; a killing in a seaside bungalow; a tragic drowning in a frozen lake.

Rachel believes that the cases are connected – but what possible link can there be? Rich, ruthless and obsessed with her own dark notions of justice, she will not rest until she has discovered the truth. To find the answers to her questions she joins a house party on the eerie and remote North Yorkshire coast at Mortmain Hall. Her inquiries are helped – and sometimes hindered – by the impetuous young journalist Jacob Flint and an eccentric female criminologist with a dangerous fascination with perfect crimes . . .

‘Martin Edwards is a guru of the Golden Age . . . His work pays homage to the intricate puppetry and byzantine plotting popular in the period.’ The Times

‘A ripping tale of retribution and rough justice, set against a finely realised 1930s London. It reads as if Ruth Rendell were channelling Edgar Wallace.’ Mick Herron

‘Superb – a pitch-perfect blend of Golden Age charm and sinister modern suspense, with a main character to die for. This is the book Edwards was born to write.’ Lee Child



    Comments & Reviews

    Leave your review

    Similar Items