Header overlay
The Nine Tailors
  • ISBN: 9781473621398
  • Pages: 384
  • Dimensions: 131 x 197mm
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Introduction: Jill Paton Walsh

The Nine Tailors

Dorothy L. Sayers
From£11.99

SF Subscriber Prices

UK & Ireland £11.99 *save £2
Overseas £13.99 *save £2

Non-Subscriber Prices

UK & Ireland £13.99
Overseas £15.99
  • Gift wrap available
  • Pre-order
  • All prices include P&P. Overseas rates & subscriber discounts will be applied once you have selected a shipping type for each item during the checkout process.
  • Special stock order
Non Slightly Foxed title: Minimum 5-10 day delivery time.
● If you are a current subscriber to the quarterly your basket will update to show any discounts before the payment page during checkout ● If you want to subscribe now and buy books or goods at the member rate please add a subscription to your basket before adding other items ● Gift wrap, messages and delivery instructions may be added during the checkout process ● If you need help please send us a message using the form in the bottom left of your screen and we’ll be in touch as soon as we’re back at our desks.

Dorothy L. Sayers’s The Nine Tailors, the eleventh book in her classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, is a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie’s Poirot and Margery Allingham’s Campion Mysteries.

When his sexton finds a corpse in the wrong grave, the rector of Fenchurch St Paul asks Lord Peter Wimsey to find out who the dead man was and how he came to be there. The lore of bell-ringing and a brilliantly-evoked village in the remote fens of East Anglia are the unforgettable background to a story of an old unsolved crime and its violent unravelling twenty years later.

‘She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit.’ P. D. James

‘D. L.  Sayers is one of the best detective story writers’ Daily Telegraph



    Vane Hopes

    I always wanted to marry Peter Wimsey. Lord Peter Wimsey, that is. Me and Dorothy L. Sayers, both. Perhaps that’s where our love lives (separately) went wrong. However, I can say that Wimsey has...

    Read more

    Hauntings

    Aged 14, I read Gaudy Night simply as a tantalizing romance masquerading as a thriller. Rereading it now I see it as a ghost story, its form demanded by its subject matter. The ghosts float across...

    Read more

    Comments & Reviews

    Leave your review

    Similar Items

    Sign up to our e-newsletter

    Sign up for dispatches about new issues, books and podcast episodes, highlights from the archive, events, special offers and giveaways.